4. Team introduction

Introduction of Henk Veenbergen (team leader)

Making this report after the GSE Tour, once again you realize what a wonderful time we had in the Osaka area of district 2660. I did not realize the impact in advance. Afterwards you like to share this feeling with all who were involved. So I think it is good, as the team members, do to introduce myself. Henk Veenbergen is my name. For more than 35 years I am working as a floristry- and landscape designer. I am a father of three daugthers and one son and I am deforced. When I was fourty years old, I became a member of Rotary, so being 55 at this time, 15 years until now. Ofcourse I was very happy to be chosen as the team leader of the Group Study Exchange to Japan. Maybe my former experiences in Japan, when I was a landscape designer for more then two and a half months, were one of the reasons to be chosen as the team leader. Two years ago I disigned a park in Kunimura with Dutch themes on the island of Honshu. My enthusiasm about the GSE Tour resulted in the membership of the GSE Committee in our district 1560 and I will invest much time to propagate this Rotary activity for tours from and to our district in the future. It is amazing to realize that, thanks to my Japanese experience, a new client of mine asked me to design a garden based on the Japanese principles. Thanks to all the information during my stay, the vocational days and the literature we are developing it now. Thanks to the relations with Japanese collegues diverse materials are imported from Japan.