Reflection of Martina Molendijk

Motivation

When I was reading about the G.S.E. program I got very enthousiastic right away. Not really expecting anything I wrote a letter to Mrs. Gijssen. Japan is a country that I only just learned little about in high-school and most of what we learned was related to the second world war and was not very positive. Going to Japan would be a great chance to create my own realistic thoughts about this; until now; to me unknown country.

As a teacher I was also interested in finding out more about the education system. I wanted to know whether Japanese schools were having similar ideas about all kind of changes that are going on at Dutch primary schools. I was also wondering if they were having similar problems. I wanted to talk to children, teachers and school principals to find out about this.

Back in Holland I was sure the children I teach and I, would profit from this experience. As a teacher you deal with children and their parents every day. Part of my job is to pass on knowledge, but it is even more important to make them think about the world and people around them. I believe that if the story of life of teachers and others is diverse it can be a great advantage to help to learn them understand, accept and respect other cultures, and to form their own opinion. This can be done best after having heard and considered many different sides of the story.

Japanese culture in daily life.