My GSE Experiences (3)

Hikaru Oda

(Team member: Registered Nurse working at Kitano Hospital)

Good evening, everyone. My name is Hikaru Oda, and I work in the Central Surgery Ward at the Kitano Hospital. Thank you for inviting me to speak here tonight.

The world is facing a number of medically related problems, such as medical treatment of various illnesses and AIDS. I think any nurse would love to have the opportunity to visit America, which is said to have the most advanced medical treatment in the world, at least once, and as a nurse, I was very interested in seeing America's medical system firsthand.

When I first heard about the GSE program from the hospital director, I wanted to go, and that is how I first became acquainted with the Rotary's GSE program. Since I had never been overseas to study and never even traveled abroad, this GSE program allowed me to fulfill a dream I had never imagined possible, and it is something I will never forget.

During my vocational study, I visited 12 hospitals, clinics and nursing homes. One difference between the United States and Japan was the amount of time patients spend in the hospital. I had heard about things from Ms. Sugino, who had the privilege of participating in a previous GSE trip, but as you know medical costs are astronomically high in the United States because of the medical insurance situation. I heard that the average time in the hospital for having a baby is two or three days at the most, and for major surgery it is about two weeks if there are no complications. One thing that really surprised me was the number of patients requiring full anesthesia who checked into the hospital on the day of the operation. At Bryan Memorial Hospital in Lincoln, Nebraska, they had a special room set aside for such patients. Everything from patient privacy to emotional security was taken care of by the doctors, nurses and special care givers who were assigned to each of the patients.