Ulrika Lundkvist

(Team member, Physician specializing in Gynecology/Obsterics)

What a wonderful opportunity to get to know Japan, I thought when I got the message that I'd been chosen to join the GSE troop. To prepare for my first visit in this exotic country, I started to study some history, knowing tradition was very strong there. As Kenzaburo Oe got the Nobel Prize of literature, I thought his books also might give me some information of modern life in Japan. At the same time the newspapers gave information about the terrible Hanshin earthquake and sarin-gas attacks in the subway. To tell the truth, after these kinds of sources of information I could not imagine what kind of country would meet us over there.

In my work as a physician I have seen and worked in hospitals on various continents. As every culture affects its health and hospital care, I was very curious of what was special with the Japanese system.

Looking back at my five weeks in Osaka, I'm not sure I really understood how the Japanese society could be so modern but yet so affected by tradition at the same time. So I don't think I came to "know" Japan in five weeks, I'm just a little less confused.

The program

At arrival at Kansai International Airport, we got a warm welcome from the Osaka GSE committee. Their concern about us stayed very obvious through the whole visit. Beside a carefully planned week schedule with various activities they had been provident enough to let us stay at a very good hotel in the weekends. For me this arrangement was necessary to sum up last week and prepare for the next.